header small-header
Assumption of The B. V. M Province

About Us

St. Vincent Pallotti, a Roman Catholic Priest, founded the Society of the Catholic Apostolate in 1835. The members of the Society of the Catholic Apostolate are known worldwide as Pallottines (Pallottine Fathers and Brothers). In 1951, Pallottine Fathers and Brothers from the Sacred Heart Province, Germany, came to India and started the Indian Mission in Raipur of Chatisgarh State. The Raipur mission of the Pallottines gradually grew and the first Pallottine Province “Prabhu Prakash Province” was erected. The Pallottine mission also gave birth to the Diocese of Raipur in Chattisgarh with a Pallottine Priest as its first Bishop. 

After 50 years of Pallottine Presence in India, the Prabhu Prakash Province was divided into three entities, viz., Prabhu Prakash Province, Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary Province and Khrist Jyoti Province. Prabhu Prakash Province has its headquarters in Nagpur while ABVM Province and Khristu Jyothi Provinces have their headquarters in Bangalore and Raipur respectively. With 196 Pallottine Priests, ABVM Province is placed first in human resources among Pallottines in the World. 

Presently, the administration of ABVM Province is entrusted to Fr. Pedro Camilo Simoes, the Provincial Rector and Fr. Arockiasamy Santhiago, Fr. Victor Prasanna Martis, Fr. Sahaya Anand Clement, and Fr. Joji Reddy T. the Councillors.


Today, ABVM Province covers six states in India and attends to the suffering of the poor and gives them the tools to transform their own lives. The Union of the Catholic Apostolate, the spiritual principles of the Founder St. Vincent Pallotti guides the Pallottines in their works among the disadvantaged people in different States of India